The Wheel of Time has stopped turning

Non-neopets general discussion.
Huggles
Feral Koala

The Wheel of Time has stopped turning

Post by Huggles »

Robert Jordan died nearly a week ago. I just found out today. This makes Huggles sad enough to speak in third-person. I believe I frequented the official WoT forums even before I started playing Neopets. That's a hell of a long time ago for the intarweb. I picked up The Eye of the World for 50 cents at a library book sale and was instantly hooked. I don't know much nor care about his personal life, but I don't think I'd be the same without the WoT.
Joey
Secret Ninja Mod
Human Avatar: 166931

Re: The Wheel of Time has stopped turning

Post by Joey »

I'd heard the day it happened. I had given up on WoT after book 10, but was willing to give it a try again after there was an ending. I'd heard he'd made arrangements with his wife and publisher to finish the last book, but I'm not sure about any details.

I'm really sad about it though. My thoughts go out to his family.
Wingsrising
Human Avatar: 157670

Post by Wingsrising »

Wow, I hadn't heard about this at all, probably because I'm not a Wheel of Time fan (I never even finished the first book).

But it's sad that he died when he still had so much left to contribute. :-(

It's also personally rather weird and scary since my uncle also has amyloidosis, although it seems to be going after my uncle's kidneys, rather than the heart like it did in Jordan's case. This spring my uncle had the same treatment Jordan did at the same treatment center, Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. (This is not surprising -- there are only a few major treatment centers for amyloidosis in the US and that's one of them.)

He got the same 4-year median life expectancy statistic, too. :|

So yeah, it's sort of weird. And scary, since obviously we're hoping my uncle makes it for more than 4 years, but it obviously didn't work that way for Robert Jordan. :-(
Huggles
Feral Koala

Post by Huggles »