Election 2008!

Non-neopets general discussion.
Jessi
Human Avatar: 155904

Election 2008!

Post by Jessi »

Since I'm leaving for the polls as soon as I post this, I figured maybe it was time for a brief election topic here!

How many of you Americans ran off to vote already, did early voting, or will be going to vote later? (ALL OF YOU THAT ARE OVER 18 I HOPE!). What issues were important to you on this? Did you have to wait in line? Have any issues? ETC!

This is my first time voting like this - in the past, I've always had to absentee ballot for my home state of Illinois. Now that I'm a Kansas resident however, I'm finally getting to vote like a normal person xD I'm insanely nervous, even though I shouldn't be - but I lost my voter registration card ;_; We called to make sure you don't need it, and you don't, but I'm afraid the people at the polls will give me a hard time xD

I'm sure it'll be fine :3

All right, I'm off to vote! Dressed from head to toe in blue, you think they'll get the hint? XD
thelonetiel
Human Avatar: 15268

Re: Election 2008!

Post by thelonetiel »

I voted!

I turned 18 on Friday, then went in to do early voting Saturday. It felt great to have my first privilege as a legal adult be to go in and vote for president. :3

I did have some hassle because while I registered in September, they had to go in and do some stuff to change my status to "active" and since they couldn't send my voter ID card out till I was actually 18, I didn't have that to make things go faster. They ended up manually putting me in the system, or something, I'm not sure of the details, just that they were calling people and shuffling me from person to person.

That was fun! Except the local ballots are kinda confusing, they aren't very clear as to where the "Straight Party" vote ends and you actually have to start voting again, but I didn't know anything about the local judges and so just left that blank.
WisteriaLynx
Human Avatar: 319191

Post by WisteriaLynx »